January 5, 2015 6:17 P.M. Newport, Oregon

The City Council of the City of Newport held an organizational meeting on the above date in the Council Chambers of the Newport City Hall. On roll call, Allen, Roumagoux, Swanson, Sawyer, Saelens, Engler, and Busby were present.

Staff present was City Manager Nebel, City Recorder Hawker, City Attorney Rich, Community Development Director Tokos, Finance Director Murzynsky, Library Director Smith, Public Works Director Gross, Fire Chief Murphy, Parks and Recreation Director Protiva, and Police Chief Miranda.

ASSIGNMENT OF COUNCIL SEATS

Nebel asked whether any sitting Councilor wanted to sit where former Councilor Beemer had sat. There were no takers, and the seat was assigned to newly-elected Councilor Engler.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Mayor Roumagoux opened nominations for Council President. Nebel noted that ballots had been prepared and would be used if necessary. The following nominations were made: Allen noted that he had initially proposed the rotation of the Council Presidency on an annual basis. He added that he, Sawyer, and Swanson had all served a year as Council President. Allen nominated Busby who accepted the nomination. Saelens nominated Swanson who accepted the nomination. Swanson reported that she had worked on the City Manager evaluation sub-group and other matters and would like to continue as Council President to complete some of the work that had begun when she served as Council President. Busby noted that he is happy to serve, and that he likes the rotation idea. Ballots were distributed, and the results were: voting for Swanson were Swanson and Saelens; and voting for Busby were Allen, Busby, Engler, Sawyer, and Roumagoux. Busby was elected Council President.

MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCIL LIAISONS TO CITY COMMITTEES AND TASK FORCES:

Nebel reported the appointments to be made, including those of liaison to boards, committees, and task forces; and voting members of external committees. He added that the three business districts should be listed as non-city committees. He stated that Roumagoux has made appointments of non-voting Council liaisons, as outlined in the packet, to various internal and external groups. Nebel reported that the December 23 list is complete, but that there are some empty slots, and a discussion needs to occur regarding how to fill Beemer's position on the Lincoln County Solid Waste District, and the Local Public Safety Coordinating Committee.

MOTION was made by Engler, seconded by Sawyer to confirm the Mayor's appointments of the following Council members, as non-voting liaisons, to various internal and external boards, commissions, committees, and task forces as presented in the appointment memorandum dated December 23, 2014, from Mayor Roumagoux to the City Council. The motion

Retirement Board of Trustees

Council Liaison: David Allen; (Mark Saelens - alternate)

Airport Committee

Council Liaison: Ralph Busby

Library Board

Council Liaison: Wendy Engler

Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

Council Liaison: Mark Saelens; (Wendy Engler - alternate)

Destination Newport Committee

Council Liaison: Dean Sawyer; (Sandy Roumagoux - alternate)

Senior Citizen Advisory Committee

Council Liaison: Laura Swanson; (Sandy Roumagoux - alternate)

Bicycle/Pedestrian Advisory Committee

Council Liaison: Mark Saelens; (Sandy Roumagoux - alternate)

Tourism Facility Grant Review Task Force

Council Liaison: Dean Sawyer

Public Arts Committee

Council Liaison: Ralph Busby; (Wendy Engler - alternate)

Wayfinding Committee

Council Liaison: Mark Saelens; (Wendy Engler - alternate)

City Employee Committee

Council Liaison: Alternates Every Month Based on Council Availability

City Emergency Preparedness Committee

Council Liaison: Laura Swanson; (Dean Sawyer - alternate)

Bayfront Parking Committee

Council Liaison: Sandy Roumagoux

Nye Beach Parking Committee

Council Liaison: Wendy Engler

City Center Parking Committee

Council Liaison: Laura Swanson

MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS AS LIAISONS TO EXTERNAL GROUPS:

Visual Arts Center Steering Committee

Council Liaison: Mark Saelens

Lincoln County School District

Council Liaison: Dean Sawyer

Port of Newport

Council Liaison: Ralph Busby; (David Allen - Alternate)

Oregon Coast Community College

Council Liaison: Sandy Roumagoux

ODOT quarterly meetings

Council Liaison: Sandy Roumagoux

FINE (Fishermen Involved in Natural Energy)

Council Liaison: David Allen (Sandy Roumagoux - alternate)

Mombetsu Sister City Ad Hoc Committee

Council Liaison: Laura Swanson

Nye Beach Merchants Association

Council Liaison: Wendy Engler

Bayfront Association

Council Liaison: Sandy Roumagoux

City Center Newport Association

Council Liaison: Laura Swanson

MOTION was made by Allen, seconded by Swanson, to appoint Mark Saelens as an alternate to the City Manager's Evaluation Quality Review Team. The motion carried unanimously in a voice vote.

MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCIL MEMBERS AS VOTING MEMBERS TO INTERNAL COMMITTEES OR GROUPS:

Audit Committee

Members: David Allen; Laura Swanson; (Mark Saelens - Alternate) - Terms expire on December 31, 2015

City Manager's Evaluation Quality Review Team

Members: Mayor; Council President; (Mark Saelens - Alternate)

COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS OF VOTING MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE GROUPS:

Cascades West Council of Governments

MOTION was made by Allen, seconded by Saelens, to appoint Sawyer as the City of Newport City Council voting member of the Cascades West Council of Governments, with Busby as the alternate. The motion carried unanimously in a voice vote.

Cascades West Area Commission on Transportation

It was noted that Sawyer is the city's voting member of the CWACT, with Busby as the alternate, and the term expires on December 31, 2015.

Lincoln County Solid Waste Advisory Committee

MOTION was made by Busby, seconded by Sawyer, to appoint Engler as the city's voting member to the Lincoln County Solid Waste Advisory Committee, with Allen as the alternate. The motion carried unanimously in a voice vote.

Oregon Coastal Zone Management Association

MOTION was made by Saelens, seconded by Swanson, to appoint Allen as the city's voting member, with Roumagoux as the alternate, to the Oregon Coastal Zone Management Association. The motion carried unanimously in a voice vote.

Local Public Safety Coordinating Council for Lincoln County

MOTION was made by Allen, seconded by Saelens, to appoint Swanson as the city's voting member to the Local Public Safety Coordinating Council, with Sawyer as the alternate. The motion carried unanimously in a voice vote.

SET TWO-YEAR MEETING SCHEDULE

Nebel reviewed the proposed two-year meeting schedule. Allen noted that an additional meeting, or more, may be needed in the months with only one scheduled meeting.

MOTION was made by Busby, seconded by Swanson, to approve the 2015 and 2016 meeting schedules, including the 2017 organizational meeting as outlined in the schedules contained in the packet, with all regular meetings beginning at 6:00 P.M., in the City Council Chambers, with Town Hall meetings scheduled at alternate locations.

ADJOURNMENT

Having no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:36 P.M.

Margaret M. Hawker, City Recorder

Sandra N. Roumagoux, Mayor