An owner has 60 days to claim his/her found property. The table below shows found property currently kept at our Department. Although an expiration date is shown, we encourage you to call us to determine if the item has been disposed of yet.
To claim found property, please bring photo ID to our office. Bring your notification letter, if you received one. Property will be released Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:30 am and 3:30 pm.
If you would like someone else to pick up your property, we must receive an original notarized letter of authorization from you. If you are picking up property for a person who is currently incarcerated, that person must write a letter authorizing you to pick up his/her property, and it must be witnessed by a Corrections Officer at the jail, with the officer's name, badge number, and contact phone number.
If you have found property, please call the police as soon as possible. Found items may not always be lost items, but may actually have been stolen or involved in the commission of a crime which police may currently be investigating. Found property can be turned over to any of our Police Officers or brought to the Newport Police Department.
Due to lack of storage space, we are unable to accept any found bicycles or other large items. Please see below for information on the Oregon Finders Law, and how to establish claim to found property.
Oregon Finders Law - PROPERTY FOUND BY PRIVATE CITIZENS (ORS 98.005)
If any person finds money or goods valued at $100.00 or more, and if the owner of the money or goods is unknown, such person shall:
LIABILITY OF NON-COMPLYING FINDER (ORS 98.015)
If any person who finds money or goods valued at $100.00 or more fails to comply with ORS 98.005, the person shall be liable upon conviction for violation of ORS 164.065, to the county for the money or goods or the full value of the money or goods.
RIGHTS OF OWNER (ORS 98.025)
If an owner of money or goods found by another person appears and establishes his claim to such money or goods within the time period prescribed by ORS 98.005, the owner shall have restitution of such money or goods or their value upon payment of all costs and charges incurred in the finding, giving of notice, care and custody of such money or goods.
Newport Police Department - (541)-574-3348
Tipline - (541)-574-5455