Go to main content
, Committees - Home

City Council Meetings

City Council

2-Year Term for Mayor, 4-Year Term for Council 6 Councilors + Mayor - City Charter 2008

Member Position First Appointed Current Term Begins Current Term Ends
David AllenCouncilor11/4/20141/1/201512/31/2018
Wendy EnglerCouncil President11/4/20141/1/201512/31/2018
Dietmar GoebelCouncilor1/3/20171/3/20171/4/2021
Sandra RoumagouxMayor11/4/20141/3/201712/7/2020
Mark SaelensCouncilor11/4/20141/1/201512/31/2018
Dean SawyerCouncilor1/6/20121/3/20171/4/2021
Laura SwansonCouncilor11/6/20121/3/20171/4/2021

City Council Meetings

The City Council meets on the first and third Mondays of each month. If this falls on a holiday the meeting is moved to the Tuesday. Work sessions are usually held at noon, and the regular meeting is held at 6:00 P.M.

Public notice of all City of Newport meetings will be made by posting on bulletin boards at the following locations:

  • City Hall, 169 SW Coast Highway
  • Newport Public Library, 35 NW Nye Street
  • Newport Recreation Center, 225 SE Avery Street

City Council Rules of Order