Go to main content
Library - Home

Contact Us

Newport Public Library
35 NW Nye St.
Newport, OR 97365
541.265.2153
Email

Building Open Hours

Tuesday, Friday 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday, Thursday 11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Book Return Hours

Our book returns are always open.

Search Oceanbooks Catalog

Search the Internet

Library Newsletter

Enter your email address in the box below to subscribe to our monthly newsletter and receive updates about all the fun things happening at the Library.

Research Articles

Connect With Us

Facebook Flickr Instagram Twitter YouTube

 

 


pride month 2022

 

Celebrate Pride Month 2022 with a good read by and about the LGBTQIA+ community.

how to be ace

Reclaiming Two-Spirits : sexuality, spiritual renewal, & sovereignty in Native America by Gregory D. Smithers

A sweeping history of Indigenous traditions of gender and sexuality that decolonizes North America's past and reveals how Two-Spirit people are reclaiming their place in Native nations.

Rainbow rainbow stories

Rainbow Rainbow: Stories by Lydia Conklin

Capturing both the dark and lovable sides of the human experience, a collection of humorous and heartrending stories follows queer, trans, and gender-nonconforming characters as they seek love and connection.

Wrath Goddess Sing

Wrath Goddess Sing by Maya Deane

Achilles has fled her home and her vicious Myrmidon clan to live as a woman with the kallai, the transgender priestesses of Great Mother Aphrodite. When Odysseus comes to recruit the “prince” Achilles for a war against the Hittites, she prepares to die rather than fight as a man. However, her divine mother, Athena, intervenes, transforming her body into the woman’s body she always longed for, and promises her everything: glory, power, fame, victory in war, and, most importantly, a child born of her own body. Reunited with her beloved cousin, Patroklos, and his brilliant wife, the sorceress Meryapi, Achilles sets out to war with a vengeance.

bath the cat

Bathe the Cat by Alice B. McGinty, illustrated by David Roberts

Dad has posted a list of chores for the family to do before grandma comes, including bathing the cat; but the cat does not want a bath, so she mixes up the instructions, and soon the family is mowing the floor, vacuuming the lawn, mopping the baby--and the house is in chaos.

Love, Violet

Love, Violet by Charlotte Sullivan Wild, illustrated by Charlene Chua

Shy Violet attempts to show another girl how she feels on Valentine's Day.

Plain Bad Heroines

Plain Bad Heroines by Emily M. Danforth, illustrations by Sara Lautman

A century after the macabre deaths of several students at a New England girls' boarding school, the release of a sensational book on the school's history inspires a horror film adaptation that renews suspicions of a curse when the cast and crew arrive at the long-abandoned building. The now abandoned and crumbling Brookhants is back in the news when writer Merritt Emmons publishes a breakout book celebrating the queer, feminist history surrounding the "haunted and cursed" Gilded Age institution. Her book inspires a controversial horror film adaptation starring lesbian it girl Harper Harper playing the ill-fated heroine Flo, and former child star Audrey Wells as Clara. But as Brookhants opens its gates once again for filming, soon it's impossible to tell where the curse leaves off and Hollywood begins.

Felix ever after

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

Felix Love, a transgender seventeen-year-old, attempts to get revenge by catfishing his anonymous bully, but lands in a quasi-love triangle with his former enemy and his best friend. Felix Love has never been in love, painful irony that it is. He desperately wants to know why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find someone. He is proud of his identity, but fears that he's one marginalization too many-- Black, queer, and transgender. When an anonymous student begins sending him transphobic messages-- after publicly posting Felix's deadname alongside images of him before he transitioned-- Felix comes up with a plan for revenge. He didn't count on his catfish scenario landing him in a quasi-love triangle.

The boy with a bird in his chest

The Boy With a Bird In His Chest by Emme Lund

"A modern coming-of-age full of love, desperation, heartache, and magic" (Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author) about "the ways in which family, grief, love, queerness, and vulnerability all intersect" (Kristen Arnett, New York Times bestselling author). Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Thirty Names of Night.

Let the record show

Let the Record Show: A political history of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993. by Aiden Thomas

In just six years, ACT UP, New York, a broad and unlikely coalition of activists from all races, genders, sexualities, and backgrounds, changed the world. Armed with rancor, desperation, intelligence, and creativity, it took on the AIDS crisis with an indefatigable, ingenious, and multifaceted attack on the corporations, institutions, governments, and individuals who stood in the way of AIDS treatment for all. They stormed the FDA and NIH in Washington, DC, and started needle exchange programs in New York; they took over Grand Central Terminal and fought to change the legal definition of AIDS to include women; they transformed the American insurance industry, weaponized art and advertising to push their agenda, and battled--and beat--The New York Times, the Catholic Church, and the pharmaceutical industry. Their activism, in its complex and intersectional power, transformed the lives of people with AIDS and the bigoted society that had abandoned them.

I was better last night

I Was Better Last Night: A Memoir by Harvey Fierstein

A revealing, poignant, and hilarious memoir from the cultural icon, gay rights activist, and four-time Tony Award winner. Harvey Fierstein's stellar career has taken him from Broadway to Hollywood and back. He's received accolades and awards for acting-Hairspray, Fiddler, Mrs. Doubtfire, Independence Day-and writing: La Cage Aux Folle, Torch Song Trilogy (for which he also won a Tony for acting) and Kinky Boots. But while he is widely known as one of today's most peerless performers, Harvey has never shared his own story until now.